Tara Javidi

Jacobs Family Scholar, HDSI Fellow, and Professor

Electrical and Computer Engineering and Halicioglu Data Science Institute


Founding Co-Director

Center for Machine-Integrated Computing and Security

Other Center Affiliations



Information Theory for Active Machine Learning

Adaptive Signal/Information Acquisition and Processing

Decentralized (Networked) Statistical and Reinforcement Learning

Optimization for Machine Integrated Computing and Communication

Wireless Communication Networks

Stochastic and Decentralized Control

IEEE Fellow


My research area involves stochastic analysis, design, and control of information collection, processing, and transfer in modern networked systems. This covers broad theoretical questions as well as practical implementation of various solutions. In my research group, we often prove theorems but we also build and test our theoretical findings when possible (graduate applicants, please refer to this link!). In particular, the work can be broadly broken into the following areas:

1. Information Acquisition-Utilization and Controlled Sensing,

2. Stochastic Control and Optimization of Networks, and

3. Communicating with Application-specific Constraints.

Learn more ›


The U.S. National Science Foundation recently announced 11 new artificial-intelligence research institutes, including The Institute for Learning-enabled Optimization at Scale (TILOS) lead by Prof Tara Javidi as one of the 4 coPIs. The AI research institutes are part of a $220 million investment spanning seven research areas in AI. Each institute receives about $20 million over five years. Congratulations to TILOS Team!

Prof. Tara Javidi along with her collaborators has been awarded one of highly competitive 2021 MURI projects, entitled "AutoCoMBOT: Autonomy in Cyberspace through robot learning and Man-BOT Teaming"!

Our JSAC paper on "Active Learning and CSI Acquisition for mmWave Initial Alignment"- coauthored with (former) PhD students Sung-En Chiu and Nancy Ronquillo- has received the IEEE Communications Society & Information Theory Society Joint Paper Award!

Prof. Tara Javidi is awarded University of Michigan ECE’s Distinguished Educator Award for her excellence in information and system theory education. This award is the highest recognition granted by UM ECE to its alumni in academia and recognizes those who have made a significant and lasting impact in education.

UV-C Drone project in the Evening News!


Tara Javidi, Ph.D., Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

email: tjavidi@ucsd.edu

Phone: (858) 822-4924

Fax: (858) 534-2486

6405 Jacobs Hall

4306 Atkinson Hall

UC San Diego, MC 0407

9500 Gilman Dr

La Jolla, CA 92093-0407

Women in Information Theory Society Production

Congratulations to newly graduated Dr Nancy Ronquillo!